Skip to content

The Letter Writing Project: Response 5

April 19, 2012

Responses are flying in at a much more rapid pace. Two of the last four responses I’ve received came through regular mail and I’ve received four of the five responses just in the last week. For more information on the project itself, you can read my initial post here. You can also read the other responses: 1, 2, 3, 4. You can also read a few of my reflections on the project. I have written both about my own experience writing letters and about that old complaint “I just don’t have time.”

I’ve decided to include some more comprehensive statistics. Today, I sent off my 30th letter. So far:

  • 30 total letters sent
  • replies received
  • of these replies were sent through snail mail
  • were scanned or photographed and sent by e-mail
  • 13 letters were sent to women
  • 17 letters were sent to men
  • All 5 of the replies have come from men
  • letters were sent to international addresses
  • The average response time is 11.8 days (after the initial letter was sent)

There are just two more people left on my initial list. If you’d like to be a part of the project, let me know.

 

Leave a comment